Saanich Police Board

Keeping Saanich Safe

The Saanich Police Board is a statutory body created under the BC Police Act. The Board provides independent civilian oversight and governance, and is the employer, of the Saanich Police Department.

Board Members

As mandated by the BC Police Act, the Board consists of the Mayor as Chair, one member recommended by municipal council, and up to seven members of the community. All members, except the Chair, are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. Board members are appointed for varying terms and may only serve a maximum of six years.

Board members are chosen to reflect the diversity of the community. Board members act in the best interest of the community and are independent from the police department and the municipal government.

COVID-19 Update

In accordance with the Provincial Health COVID-19 directives, members of the public may now attend the Board’s Public meetings held in person at 760 Vernon Avenue in the Kirby Room.

If you wish to speak as a delegation at one of the Board’s public meetings, you must first register as a delegation. For more information, please see the Delegations section.

The Board reserves the right to limit the number and type of delegations in accordance with the Board’s policies and procedures.

Scroll to Top
Skip to content